14 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Best Answer

Short Answer: No.

Long Answer: The question implies there is a spiritual reason for people to be executed in the first place.

While I am no expert on world religions (only taken a couple of classes on the subject, spent some off hours doing personal research on whatever happened to fancy me at the time, and had a grandfather that taught me it is okay to explore spirituality), my basic understanding of Islam is that it is against their holy teachings to consume alcohol. For that reason, in the context of their world view, yes, they should be executed; they broke the law, and the punishment is death.

Do I personally believe it is right? No. Do I believe there should ever be an execution based on what a spiritual book (any spiritual book) says? No. Do I believe there should ever be an execution? I believe that society and technology have evolved to the point where we can safely house anyone away from the general population so as to prevent them from doing harm to someone else. Do I believe death makes for a good deterrent? Yes, but I also believe the hope of forgiveness makes for a better incentive to change.

However, it is often difficult to remain objective of another culture's morality when we lack the ability to empathize, as a nation, with a society containing drastically different customs and priorities.

Source(s): Associates of Liberal Arts (coursework including adolescent psychology, cultural anthropology, developmental psychology, ethics, humanities I and II, intoduction to philosophy, introduction to counseling skills, religions of the world).
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

I personally don't think so.

It is quite hypocritical since :

Our own bodies produce a type of alcohol called endogenous ethanol. Around one pound per day which is quite a large amount. Yeast found in bread, pasta... that the body is unable to digest also ferments & becomes alcohol in our own bodies apparently.