need help understanding dpdt relays?

This is my first time building a circuit which includes a power dpdt relay. Could someone please explain what do coil voltage, turn on voltage (max), and turn off voltage (min) mean? For example, this one particular dpdt relay that I saw online has coil voltage, turn on voltage, and turn off voltage ratings at 24VDC, 18VDC, 2.4VDC, respectively.

thanks for answering

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The coil is rated to handle continuous 24V. on its coil (read 24/7), without overheating.

Because of the distance from the coil core, the voltage has to be approaching 18V. (this is the maximum voltage at which changeover occurs) on the coil to attract the armature. But having now closed the gap between armature and coil core, it stays there until the voltage on the coil reduces to not less than 2.4V. Then the armature releases.

This all relates to ANY relay, not just DPDT. However pull in and drop out voltages can change, you only have the data for 1 particular relay make and configuration.

In the end, you use 24V. on the coil. In most circuits there will be no voltage when the armature releases, but in some electronically switched voltages, some voltage can remain on the coil, which is why in this case it must not exceed 2.5V., or the relay armature will not release. The relay remains ON when it should have moved to OFF.

• 3 years ago

Relay Turn On Voltage

• Anonymous
    8 years ago

The relay is rated to operate reliably at 24 volts DC. 18 volts is the minimum voltage that will cause the relay to operate the contacts. The relay will stay operated until the voltage drops below 2.4 volts. This is because the current required to attract the armature is more than the current required to hold it once attracted.

• Gale
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/axe5l