Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsMedicine · 9 years ago

Could I be a successful doctor? ?

It sounds like a good idea just because of the money but that's my only motivation; money.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm a med student and I am going to say that you are in the wrong profession and if you're only motivation is money then it shows that you are greedy and you won't be happy being a doctor. If you have an interview for med school and you say 'I want money' then they're not going to be happy (even though I'm sure there are some medics to do it for the money). But for a doctor you have to become one because you are passionate about saving people's lives, making a difference in the community, helping others and you like anything to do with medicine and science. A lot of people only see the good sides of a doctor (having dr. in front of your name, the money, the respect of people, you're like God saving lives and you can travel all over the world) but really there are negative aspects that you need to consider (working long hours, on call, dealing with death, dealing with rude staff and limited family time & social life). Also, if you don't have any motivation for your chosen subject then I doubt you will even get your door through med school which in my opinion getting a place at university is the hardest, as they receive applicants from all over the world with the experience and stellar grades. When you graduate medical school you graduate with quite a lot if debt, so you won't have a lot of money to start off with, and if you want more money you will have to work your way up - surgeon, registra, consultant and head of departement which takes many years and is no easy feat. If you want a lot of money then there are other jobs you should consider - starting your own business, business consultant, lawyer or banker. But anything to do with business and banking would be your best bet. Good luck

Source(s): Med stduent