Remington 870 wingmaster vs express?

Im new to guns, so im not sure of the difference. I would definentially be getting a 12 gauge to hunt mostly deer, but second i might do some pheasants or turkeys or something like that. Also, if its called the wingmaster, is it meant for just birds?

thanks!

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hello "Momoloo"!

The Remington Model 870 design has been around for well over 50 years, and when it first came out, it was called the "Wingmaster".

The Model 870 Wingmaster is Remington's "top of the line" pump action shotgun. It has a walnut stock and a deep blue on its' steel receiver and barrel. There are 2 grades of the Wingmaster, the field version, and the trap classic (all of the bells and whistles for trap shooting).

The Model 870 Express is the economy version of the Wingmaster, and available (in some respects) for up to $500 less than a Wingmaster. While the design is the same, the materials and fit are not the same. Typically, the receiver is milled from a block of aluminum, not steel. The stock and pump forearm can be had in either a "hardwood" or synthetic, and the finish is a rough matte, somewhat like a military rifle's "parkerizing".

In all honesty, to me the Model 870 Express feels "light", and the action does not seem to be as solid or tight. For experienced shooters, those who had been brought up with the classic shotguns milled from steel, the Wingmaster has been retained, but for the new shooter, who has not experienced the classic shotguns, the Express is out there, and more readily affordable.

If you do your job correctly when you are "afield", the game will die a quick death and not be able to tell whether they were shot by a Model 870 Wingmaster or a Model 870 Express. For the most part, both have available 24" buck barrels, and ventilated rib barrels in: 26", 28", and 30" lengths.

Good luck and good shooting!