Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiet & Fitness · 9 years ago

Why aren't I losing weight?

Hi, so I'm hoping to lose 15-20 lbs. I am twenty. I have been eating well, as in vegetables, chicken, and I drink only water. Also, I stay away from coffee, soda, tea, alcohol, junk food, ice cream, candy, etc completely. However, nothing has changed in my body. I work out a little, but not a lot. I've heard that diet is mostly the key to weight loss, and I make sure I am eating enough, while also not eating too much. I've been doing this for a few months. Why am I not losing weight?

52 Answers

Relevance
  • Sara
    Lv 6
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The formula for weight loss: Calories in < calories lout. You need to exercise to lose weight; where you get your calories does not matter for weight loss.

• 9 years ago

It's because you are not working out. You lose weight by burning more calories than you take in. You are eating the right amount to not lose weight, but also not to gain weight. If I were you, I would run a few times everyday, and also eat a few hundred calories less a day. About 3500 calories make up a pound, so if you eat 500 less calories a day or burn 500 callers or more a day, you should be losing about 1 pound a week, keep up the work!

• Jade
    Lv 5
    9 years ago

Maybe you're not counting your calories correctly. Eating healthy is only one part of losing weight through your eating habits - you also need to not eat too many calories. If you don't exercise much, aim for 1500 calories a day. 1200 at the minimum. If that still doesn't work, try working out more. Good luck! :)

• Anonymous
    9 years ago

Weight loss can be challenging because sometimes it is not as easy as calories in vs. calories out.

Sometimes we do all the right things and the body needs a little bit of a kick start. Certain supplements can be very effective in boosting metabolism and burning fat.