Why were the sikhs denied Khalistan?

Gandhi promised that he would give the northern most part of india to the sikhs as their own country, but never went through with his promise. Why did he lie? Why, even to this day is sikhism denied the status of official religion in india while islam, hinduism, jewish and Christianity is? Why is india still deny sikhs what they were promised in turn for their help?

Sorry for the amounts of questions.....im a student in history class and i need other peoples opinions, no one is sikh in my school.

Update:

Oxford, muslims weren't given their own country? wtf about pakistan? Pakistan was made for the muslims population. Hindus got india and sikhs deserve khalistan.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Because india hate sikhs and sikhs hate india. Sikhs have been prosecuted against and hunted down like animals solely based on their religion. Sooner or later Khalistan will be made and that will be a glorious day

• Batlow
    Lv 6
    9 years ago

You'd be better off asking in a Yahoo Answers group like 'History':

Home > All Categories > Arts & Humanities > History

...because the question really isn't anything to do with Anthropology.

Whole books could be written about this question (and have been). No short answer here will be complete. By way of comment, though ... a few things are involved (note, I don't necessarily agree these were *good* factors, or desirable decisions, they're just a matter of historical record) -

- the Sikhs were not a majority population in any Indian District, even Punjab either before or after Partition. The Muslim leaders argued they were majority population in the several Districts which now form Pakistan;

- Muslims had gained a small measure of independence in the Minto-Morley Reforms of 1909, whereas the Sikhs had been bypassed in that Act; so the Muslims were somewhat further ahead in seeking a separate state at the time of Independence.