Anakin
Lv 6
Anakin asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationHunting · 8 years ago

Favorite powder for 45 ACP and 9mm reloads?

For experienced handgun reloaders, what is your favorite powder for the 45 ACP & 9mm? Your "formulation" will be highly appreciated.

I'm a novice reloader trying to reload 115-gr & 124-gr 9mm FMJ and JHP. A friend recommended WSF because it is "clean".

I just started reloading 45 ACP with Longshot -- mostly 230-gr, 185-gr or 200-gr FMJ.

__

Please recommend your favorite powders based on personal experience:

1. For the same muzzle velocity, are certain powders more accurate than others?

2. Do slow-burning powders produce more "muzzle flash"? For example, Longshot (#52) vs 700-X (#12)?

http://www.hodgdon.com/burn-rate.html

3. Do slow-burning powders produce more recoil (or the opposite)?

4. Do slow-burning powders leave more soot on the cases?

__

I'm open to using any powder as long as it's based on your favorable personal experience with it. I'm open to using different powders for 9mm and 45 ACP.

Thanks.

Update:

I keep hearing Bullseye and "Red Dot" on reloading boards. Are they good powders for 45 ACP and 9mm?

Update 2:

I have a Beretta 92FS (9mm) and Taurus 1911 (45), both with 5" barrels. Springfield XDm 45; and Kimber 1911 (45) are in the plans.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I agree with your friend, wsf is a nicely burning powder. First off in 45 ACP and/or 9mm your barrel lenghts are fairly unlikely to exceed 5".

Knowing that, anything used in a pistol should be a quick burning powder because otherwise, when the bullet leaves the barrel the powder could still be burning which will affect accuracy by deviating the bullet (gases pushing on either side will have this effect), increase recoil, dirty the barrel quicker, dirty the case and will produce more muzzle flash.