Geno
Lv 5
Geno asked in Cars & TransportationCar MakesBMW · 9 years ago

Is a 2000 BMW 325i a good first car?

So I've been working for that last 6 months to save up for a car. And I've been looking at 2000 BMW 325i's. Are they good first cars? I'm 16. Are they reliable? Do they cost a lot to maintain? What are some common problems with them? Thank you! 10 points to best answer.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

A excellent car, but as a first car, no.

Even though BMW's are bulletproof and will treat you well, you had better be prepared for the increased cost of upkeep. Yes, they are very reliable but Bimmers and the E46 (the car you mention) in general are going to cost you more in regular maintence. It's just a fact of life for a BMW owner and it's even more crucial as parts are incredibly expensive. Thus it's not a good choice if you are on a shoe-string budget.

Like I said, BMW's are bulletproof if taken care of and the E46 is a good example in particular. They are very reliable cars and have a excellent track record. However, the cooling system, electronics and tranny are weak spots but as I said, this car is very reliable. Make damn sure to check for maintence records as these cars do need to be taken care of. If they are, theyll never let you down.

But imo, you would be better off buying something a bit cheaper to start of with. I'm a bimmer enthusiast and I have bothing but praise for these cars but unless you have the cash to take proper care of them, you will find yourself in trouble. Trust me, find something cheaper to start with as you have your entire life for the fancy stuff

Hope I helped, if you have any othee questions feel free to shoot me a e-mail. Good luck!

Source(s): I'm a BMW enthusiast and E36 driver,and father is longtime BMW owner/enthusiast as well
  • 9 years ago

I agree with the others for the reasons mentioned...but also...