What specifications would I need on a desktop to edit 1080p HD Video?

I'm a video editor. I purchased a camera recently that films in 1080p HD video. I currently edit in Sony Vegas on a Windows 7 machine, that was fine for standard video, but I need a more powerful machine to edit in Sony as it lags massively skipping many frames at a time with this laptop! What are the components of a good HD-Video editing computer? Is it ram, graphics card, processor that enables it to run these video editing programs in order to edit HD videos? If so, what are the requirements or minimum specifications you would suggest?

Thanks all!

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

1) There are two routes you can go, you can either get a traditional desktop PC, or you can get a workstation. A workstation is basically a mix between a server and a desktop that has special features that PCs don't, most notably the ability to use multiple CPUs at the same time, SAS, etc... They are also slightly more stable than desktops. If money isn't a concern, and you want professional level editing and speed, go with the workstation. If this is just for personal/hobbyist use, go with a desktop. I'll describe the desktop approach below, but you can research the workstation option from those more knowledgeable in workstations than myself.

2) In any video editing machine, you'll want lots of brute force. That means lots of threads/processing power and lots of RAM. Get as much RAM as you can get, 1600MHz minimum speed. 16GB is probably the minimum I'd recommend for 1080p editing, but you can go up to 32GB or even 64GB. You'll also want as many threads as possible.