Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkCooking & Recipes · 9 years ago

I want to cook some apples what can I use to cook them with ?

Is it is possible tocook them in a crock pot?

or steam them in pot on the stove? My oven is not working so cannot bake them, and I cannot find my pyrex big bowl to cook it in the microwave so please give me some different ways to cook them.

thanks for your help.

I am not a novice just need some creative ideas right now. I am 65 not 12.

Update:

Thank you for your inventive and clever answers.

I need to cook them without any sugar as I have low blood sugar and sugar makes me feel weak and tired.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Apple Crumble Crock Pot.The crumble comes out crisp and crumbly, the apples are cooked beautifully, and since you’re cooking in a crockpot it couldn’t be easier.

Ingredients:

4-5 cooking apples, peeled and sliced

1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/2 cup flour (leave out for wheat free version)

3/4 cup rolled oats

1 teas ground nutmeg

1 teas ground cinnamon

4 T butter, softened

Directions:

Lightly butter the crockpot and lay the apple slices at the bottom of the crock. Combine the sugar, flour, rolled oats, nutmeg and cinnamon, and cut in the butter. Sprinkle the topping over the base of apples. Cook on low or auto for 3-5 hours.

Steamed Apple Pudding*.A delicious steamed pudding filled with apple and topped with lovely apples and golden syrup. Scrummy!

125g of unsalted butter (1/2 cup)

4 TBS golden syrup (Can use golden corn syrup)

2 cooking apples, about 1 pound in total, cored, and peeled

100g of caster sugar (generous 1/2 cup)

2 large free range eggs, beaten

200g of self raising flour (generous 1 3/4 cup)

the grated rind of one orange and 3 TBS of the juice