Should I quit or take a break from working as a real estate agent?

Hi, I work in Michigan as a real estate agent. I've been an agent for almost two years. I recently got a part-time job and it took a long time to find. I love my new job. I do like real estate but it seems I have to put a lot of time and effort to get a little reward. Back when I didn't have a part-time job I had all the time in the world. I've sold three houses. I love the commission and it's great to finally get to closing. It's just such a long time from one pay check to another. The longest time from one sale to the next was seven months! At the time that was my only income. I guess I'm trying to say it's not paying off right now like I thought it would.

I'm young, in my early 20's and when I started real estate I really didn't know what direction my life was going in as far as what to do in a career. All I knew is I didn't want to go to college (been there, done that.) I just feel bad for both my bosses, I'm close to both of them. I feel like they've done so much for me and spent so much time training me and things. I really feel like I be letting them down. At the same time I'm not sure if this is what I want to do right now. I will continue to renew my license in case I want to try it again in a few years. I also feel like I'm young I have all the time in the world to be serious.

My question is; should I quit real estate or should I take a few years off? What would you do and why?

Thank you and sorry for the long question!

Update:

Well Mr.Real Estate guy thanks for your concern, not that I actually think you care. We can't all be perfect. So I have issues, who doesn't? There's nothing wrong with that.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Most in the real estate field finally come to the conclusion that you have, there are stints between closings and bills must still be met.