? asked in Home & GardenMaintenance & Repairs · 9 years ago

My roofer suggested nailing the tiles to the existing roof. The original tiles are thick tiles. Bad idea?

The original tiles are asbestos shingles and in comparison the new 3 tab (25 yr) tiles are so thin. He said it would give the roof more protection ... he gave me the option of not removing the old roof if I wanted to save money. Is this a horrible idea? He didn't seem to think so.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes it is a bad idea.

I've been roofing for 25 years, I have seen roofs put on like this and will only cost more later to take it off.

It also keeps the new shingles from sealing correctly and makes it look bumpy, you will not like how it looks once they are done.

Sounds to me like the guy just wants to take a short cut and will give you little discount for going over the old shingles.

• Anonymous
    5 years ago

This has been done for years. And that is why they have longer screws and staples. Before you start, have him make sure of the sub roofing--you know, the plywood or the original wood that the old roof is nailed to. Just have him check in the attic for rot or broken lumber, and do repairs there as needed.

• Rich
    Lv 4
    9 years ago

1st, I am not a roofer. But I have always read/been told that it can be okay to put a 2nd layer of shingles over top of the first layer in areas that do not get much snow. If there is a likelihood of a major snow storm, the extra weight of the old shingles can make a big difference on whether your roof can support the load or not.

The only real advantage to leaving them on is that it saves you money now. If you are likely to still be in the house in 25 years, then you will need to remove both layers then anyway. Might as well remove them now.

• XTX
    Lv 7
    9 years ago