Joe asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 8 years ago

Investing: switching from Charles Schwab to Scottrade?

I've been buying and selling stocks with Charles Schwab for a few months now and I've been planning on switching to Scottrade because they have a cheaper trading fee. The commission fee for Charles Schwab is ridiculously high and yet I don't even use most of the extra customer services that they offer.

When I looked at the Scottrade website, it said something about that they can easily transfer all of your assets and information from another broker to a new Scottrade account. Is this possible, and if so how much would it cost? Is it better to transfer your information from one broker to another, or is it easier to simply cancel everything with one broker and start a whole new account with a different broker from scratch?

Has anyone done this before?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

All brokerage move accounts from one firm to another by using the ACATS system (Automated Customer Accounts Transfer System). The balances and positions of such customer usually move the DTC system (Depository Trust Corp) which acts a clearing agency for most security transactions executed on exchanges.

The charges imposed by brokerage firms vary, the receiving firm usually does not charge a fee for having securities/monies moved to them. The charges imposed by the delivering firm varies, most will charge about $15 for the total move, some may charge more.

Not sure how you can "cancel" your positions/balances with a brokerage firm, if you move to a new firm you must, by law, open a new account and apply for those accounts you may need (margin, options etc). Brokerages firms are not permitted to accept new account forms or other agreements prepared for or used by other broker/dealers, therefore the new firm needs all agreements