That asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 8 years ago

Chance at USMC Platoon Leaders Class? (GPA, PFT, etc)?

Hello everyone, as frequent as this question most likely arises, I would like to present my own version. I am a Freshman right now in a competitive Engineering School in the Northeast, and I am currently applying for this October's selection board.

GPA: 3.25 (Mechanical Engineering)

Desired MOS: Infantry Officer (I know, I know...)

PFT (Pullups/Crunches/3mi): 20/100/~19:30 Still training + have time to resubmit until the end of Sept.

Medical: 15-20 eyesight, no forseen problems with MEPS other than a hairline elbow fracture years ago and heartburn medication.

SAT: ~1300

As for the rest of the package that cannot really be posted; I have great recommendations, my "Why I Want To be..." essay will be phenominal, no drug use, confident and outgoing personality.

I know the Marine Corps is really feeling the loss of funding, but I hope I am still a strong candidate for the program. My OSO informed me I would be a walk-on (essentially) to the Aviation program, but I truly have no desire to fly. Whether in Supply or Infantry, I want to lead soldiers on the ground. However, although dirty I did hear you can drop your Air Contract at TBS if you want to. Would it make sense to apply under an Air Contract for PLC and then drop for hopefully an IOC at TBS?

Thank you ahead of time.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Marine
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Best Answer