How to convince my parents to let me drink..?

I'm 18 and a resident of Puerto Rico, therefore I can legally drink now. However, my dad (who currently lives out of state) disapproves. He went berserk when he called and I told him I was at a bar the night before. I told him because I thought he would be cool with it, you know? I'm really confused because I've had drinks in front of him as a minor and he never said anything. Now that I'm legal though, I feel as though my parents are trying to tie me down. My mom is simply "okay" with me drinking; however, I know she supports my dad's wishes. It's not as though I get messed-up drunk or anything, I just have 2 or 3 drinks, a good laugh with a couple of my friends and that's it. Why can't they understand that? My parents know that I am way more responsible than others my age, yet they still want to hold me down. I'm an A student who recently got accepted into UPRM (considered the best university in Puerto Rico and Latin America) to study Civil Engineering. My parents drink too, if anyone was wondering. I just don't get it. My dad asked me, "Why do you have to drink?" I don't have to drink, it's my decision to do so, but I will always drink responsibly. They both know I'm a responsible kid, but once I show signs of being an adult they go nuts. Right now my dad is pissed and told me to not call him unless I had a legit explanation for my "actions". Even though my dad isn't here, I don't want to have a bad relationship with him. So.. any tips?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

It might seem unfair, but your parents are just looking out for you. I think your parents had no problem with you drinking in front of them because they were there and able to make sure you didn't over drink.