2 points on a 16 year old's license punishment?
I'm 16 and just got a citation for going 44 in a 25, in Ohio 10-29 mph over in a below 55 zone is 2 points. What is the punishment for a 2 point infraction on my license? The court date is for may 24th which is 6 months and 1 day after I got my license. We will be getting it pushed even farther back due to my school exams. What is the punishment? Thanks!
- 8 years agoFavorite Answer
The punishment? Insurance rates you'll never be able to afford before you hit 25 (or whenever points come off your license in Ohio). If you reach a set amount of points (also determined by the individual state), you get your license revoked.
BUT.....if you go to court no matter what you'll likely receive a reduced sentence. I've gone 3 times and plead guilty for two to get reduced fines (in CA). On a third ticket I contested and when the court date came up to plead my case the officer did not show up, most likely since it was near Christmas, and I received no fines and the case was thrown out.
You have lots of decisions here.Source(s): Personal experience