how to become insurance broker and work from home?

i am a travel agent and work for myself. I would like to sell car insurance as well. What are the courses i may have to take and what are the license i may need , can any body advice me pls?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

You'll need your property and casualty insurance license. That'll allow you to sell home, auto, and business insurance in the state you are licensed in. You can rent a study guide at your local library, study for the exam, and take it (ask your state's insurance department where to take it).

Once you pass it, you'll want to find a company or agency to get appointed with, so you have products to sell, and sales support.

I hope that helps. Good luck!

• 8 years ago

Assuming you're in the United States, google (*your state name*) Department of Insurance. Look for the official website (it will probably have .gov in the url) and there should be a link for becoming an agent that will go into the specifics. I'll do a general breakdown below:

To sell auto insurance you will need to be licensed in property and casualty. You'll have to do pre-licensing education, in some states you can do that at home, but others require you do actual class time. If you're new to the industry I recommend going to a real class so that if you have questions you can ask the instructor.