Is Harley Davidson nightster a good beginner bike? and is it good for a small guy like me?

I am only 5'7 and 123 pounds, I am worried that the bike will be to heavy, or to hard to handle.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Dimo J
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Most people will say no. 50% of new/retread riders start on a Harley Davidson. If you *gotta* have a Harley, it is not a bad motorcycle.

If you only want a Harley because you don't know better, there are better bikes for you. Compare the Nightster to my Savage: http://www.powersportsnetwork.com/enthusiasts/new_... -- $4,600 less MSRP, about 200 pounds lighter, quicker off the line when the signal light goes green.

• 9 years ago

Depends on how 'beginner' you are. Like never rode anything before, or rode some dirt bikes and borrowed a street bike once or twice.?

First thing first is to take a safety course. You will learn a lot there, trust me. I took a course after I had been riding for 3 years, and I learned a lot. I thought I knew how to ride pretty well, but I quickly learned otherwise. MSF is a good one. Some Harley dealerships offer the course, I don't know about the price. I live in ohio, it's only $25 for us to take it and the state pays the rest.

As far as the nightster being a good beginner bike, it is ok but not the best. I was 5'9" and about 140lbs when I got my first bike, which was a sportster very similar to the nightster. I dropped it in a parking lot once, but otherwise I did good on it. I would recommend that you get on craigslist and find an older bike, but something similar to the sportster. Buy it for a fair price, ride it for a year or two, then get your sportster. That's what I should have done, but didn't.

• Anonymous
    4 years ago