Moving into a townhouse next year, any advice?

I just finished my freshman year of College I lived in the dorm this year but next year I'm renting a townhouse with 4 other guys and a girl. This is my first time renting anything. The house is unfurnished but does have a fridge oven and all that. I'm only really friends with one of the guys, the other 4 i have met a couple times but not that close to, but they're all friends with my one friend if that make sense

DO you have any advice on moving into a new house, what are some of the problems you faced when you first moved into a house

Update:

@karen thanks for the advice Ill make sure we lay down ground rules, lucky for me I am an easy going guy and dont get annoyed easily

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Personally, I would never do it. Here's some reasons why:

- People inevitably eat your food, even if you label it. It gets frustrating especially if you eat well (my roommate stole hundreds of dollars of food. I told her to stop and she didn't. I couldn't stop buying food all together, so it persisted).

- Everyone doesn't have the same level of respect. You might be clean and they might be sloppy. Because you want to be clean or OCD, they will take advantage and expect you to clean if you want it to stay clean. Even if you let it get messy, they won't care (assuming you're the clean one).

- Some might party a lot and turn your place into a party house, in which case everyone on the lease is liable for damages, etc.

- Tension always arises. You guys will inevitably butt heads eventually and it might be frustrating.

IF you've already signed a lease, then the reasons listed above are things to look out for. If you guys want, I suggest writing an agreement where all of you agree to do the cleaning (rotating schedule for toilet, kitchen, floors, vacuuming, garbage removal, etc). Also, be clear of what is off limits, how long guests can stay over, etc.

• Anonymous
    9 years ago