Can my writing get worse?

I'm a 13 year old writer and I've been working on my novel for about 3 weeks. I think I started out okay,but recently I have been noticing my prose is falling. I don't think it was very good to begin with. Can you guys help me know whether my writing is getting worse and if you can give a long answer and critique it as well?

Here's the opening of the first chapter:

Chase Cooper lay awake on his bed, unable to get to sleep the night before.  Today’s the day, he thought. The long awaited piercing sound of the alarm clock sends him leaping out of bed and into the bathroom. He undresses and steps into the shower. His hands fumble on the Japanese shower knob, but he eventually manages to turn on the hot water.

As pellets of hot water bombarded his skin, he thinks about the day ahead of him. It was the day he’ll finally break loose of the cocoon of a life his father has built for him. His father was an archaeologist and frequently traveled across the globe, taking Chase along with him.

But a few days ago, Chase’s father had announced that he was retiring and moving to Nevada, permanently. Chase realized that he’d finally have the opportunity to finally do the things normal fifteen-year-olds do; attend school; have friends; go to parties.

But most of all, he’d return to the place his mother died at. He’d finally fill in the gap of his conscience for moving so abruptly when she died. Chase clasped his soaking wet metallic medallion his mother had given him when he was young. The very last thing she had given to him.

A few minutes later Chase stepped out of the shower, wrapped a clean white towel around his waist, and put his clothes back on. The instant he steps out of the bathroom, his father swings Chase’s room door open.

“Come on, Chase,” he said. “I’ve already put our luggage in the back of the car, and the cab driver isn’t getting any less impatient.”