Does low blood pressure affect how quickly alcohol works?

I have fairly low blood pressure and generally poor circulation and alcohol has a really quick effect on me, ridiculously fast even and it's not like I'm new to drinking at all. And so it occurred to me that these two factors would be related I just wasn't sure exactly how. I'm going for another doc appointment later this week, but just wanted to see if any one else out there had an opinion on the matter. Would this explain why I get drunk so fast compared to someone else of my size and age?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Fred S
    Lv 5
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Alcohol causes vaso dilation of the vasculature which results in a reduction of blood pressure. If your blood pressure is already low then this can affect you cerebral perfusion and make you faint. Metabolism of alcohol is via the P450 system of the liver and depending on liver function how quickly or slowly the alcohol is metabolised.

Source(s): RN / Intensive Care Paramedic
  • 4 years ago

Source(s): My Diabetes Gone Completely - http://diabetesgofar.com/?dGsr
  • Diane
    Lv 4
    5 years ago

3 years ago, I was diagnosed - hypertension with a reading of 160/100. I used to feel dizzy a lot, my legs had awful cramps, and levels were very low in my potassium, causing my fingers and toes to always cramp together. One day I started to feel really faint while I was driving with my daughter in the back seat and I passed out, hitting 3 cars and ending up in a ditch. That moment,I knew I had to do something because my meds weren't working. I heard about this diet from a friend and thought I'd give it a shot. The results have been remarkable. In just 21 days, I honestly can't remember feeling this good, my blood pressure went from 175/110 to 125/70.

• Anonymous
    5 years ago