is this normal for a civil/environmental engineering job at entry level?

at this engineering firm, they want to put me in customer service and all the other areas of their firm for training. and I'm sort of confused because my degree is in civil/environmental engineering. and that's why I applied for and that's what they know I want, so why are they putting me into other areas instead of Just engineering??

is this extra office work temporary? and if so, how temporary?

I want to start engineering, I don't care to be the office errand girl, or sales girl, or customer service girl, or whatever I just want to do the tasks for engineering!! I really hope the extra office work won't last more than a few months.and now I'm worried because i dont want it to last longer than a few months. have you been in this situation before? ahhh :(

3 Answers

Relevance
  • John
    Lv 5
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I am going to take the optimistic view of your employer and suggest that while you want to jump right in, they want to have to understand everything you company does from the point of view of the customer. Have I seen this before, yes, and in the cases I have seen, it was temporary. However, there are stories of where it is not.

So, how do you deal with this and figure out what is going on. The first thing to do is to make a plan. If you are an engineer, you know that this is a problem to solve. And, this is a problem you have not seen before, so as an engineer, how to you go about solving a new problem.