Is student debt worth a college you really love?

I am currently at a big state university, but don't like how large the school is, how frustrating it is to have professors who don't know me and don't really teach and I don't really fit in with the very conservative student body. I am a motivated student with good grades and test scores and got a half-tuition scholarship from the private liberal arts school I want to transfer to.

I visited the school and absolutely LOVE it. The professors seem to really care about students and teach instead of just lecturing, the advisers know the students they work with and are dedicated to helping them with career and life goals rather than just signing up for classes, there is a real community feeling, the city is great, and I would have the opportunity to play on the team for the sport I play, as it is division 3 (this would be awesome as I miss playing SO much and it was really something that gave me a sense of belonging and something to work towards in high school). I feel like I would fit in much better there and have a better college experience overall. I see college as a time to grow personally and intellectually, not just a way to get a degree and get the feeling that this college believes so, too.

My problem is that going to this school would cost more than is in my college fund and I would go about 20k in student loan debt. I plan to study abroad, which would add to the costs. Where I am now, I would actually have money left over to pay for study abroad, etc. I am so grateful to have a college fund that can foot a great part of the tuition, but cannot decide if going in debt is worth it, even for a college I absolutely love.

I would appreciate advice you all have - especially from anyone who has experience or who has had to make a similar decision. Also, anyone who went to a liberal arts college, why was it worth it to you to choose that over a public state school?

Thanks all!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • DS
    Lv 7