Zen asked in PetsHorses · 8 years ago

How did you achieve the dream of owning a horse?

Horses are my entire focus in life but I've never been able to afford one and have always worked for lessons. I am really good with horses on the ground (I have worked at barns since I was 12) but never really a brilliant rider. (im 17) And right now my confidence is lacking terribly. i got a good paying job at a barn and I decided to look at a horse I wanted to try and 1/4lease for the first time and found out he was a bit too advanced for meBby falling off when he spooked.

Horse lovers, have you ever been in a situation like this when you where young? And how did you achieve your dream of owning a horse?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • ♣ALT
    Lv 6
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I achieved my dream after I graduated college and had a decent paying job. I always wanted a horse, but I knew I just needed to tough it out until I was out of school and could afford one. Thankfully, I had really good connections, so I was about to find the perfect guy for me for free and board him where I work. He came with baggage, but I really enjoy putting in the extra work and seeing him grow. Thankfully, it's stuff I can handle as long as I have someone there helping me out every once in a while. He has come a LONG way and is improving with each ride. I'd rather learn with the horse than get a perfectly schooled, push button one. It really helps my confidence since I have issues just like you.

• 8 years ago

I'm in a similar position as you. I've never owned or leased a horse but I have made some changes in my lifestyle to provide the occasional extra experience with them.