When did England, Wales, Scotland, North Ireland become the United Kingdom?

2 Answers

  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Wales: In 1216, Wales and England entered into an agreement where Wales would be autonomous in the Kingdom of England. This changed in 1535 and 1542, when Wales was merged completely into the Kingdom of England by both the English Parliament and King Henry VIII. From 1542-1993, this status remained as such.

    Scotland: King James VI of Scotland became King James I of England when Queen Elizabeth I died, as he was the successor to the throne. He reigned England from 1603-1625. Although he wanted to merge England and Scotland into one country, this idea failed. However, in 1706 and 1707, both the English and Scottish Parliaments passed an Act of Union, making the new country of the United Kingdom of Great Britain.

    Ireland: There was various Irish Kingdoms until 1171, when the Lordship of Ireland was formed. As the King of England was the Lord of Ireland, it was effectively under English control. In 1542, Henry VIII became King of Ireland, making it the Kingdom of Ireland. In 1801, Ireland was virtually annexed into Great Britain, making it the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. In 1922, Ireland became a dominion of the British Commonwealth and became a fully independent country in 1949. However, in 1922, it became the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, as the United Kingdom still had control over Northern Ireland.

  • 9 years ago

    They joined in 1707

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.