Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsPhotography · 9 years ago

how does shutter speed effect slow motion? 60fps or 1000fps?

I am new to filming and photography and i was wondering what is the difference between 60fps and 1000fps?!?

Which one do i want to use for slow motion? Im not even sure what shutter speed really is...

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

It sounds a bit as if you're confusing video with still photography.

In still photography, you use the term "shutter speed" to determine the length of time the shutter stays open. This is referred to as the exposure time...how long the image is exposed. So think of it like this. The faster your shutter speed, the less time the image is exposed to the film (in film cameras) or sensor (in digital cameras). For example, if you wanted to capture a moment of something moving very fast, you may want to use a fast shutter speed to preserve the moment, such as a batter hitting a baseball the instant the ball is contacted with the bat. This might be 1/1000 sec. or faster shutter speed. A slower shutter speed is used to create motion in a still photo. Examples of this would be fireworks that explode over a second or two (so you might use a 1 or 2 second shutter speed) or capturing the light trails of cars driving by at night.