Can you please read and correct my essay?

Is my thesis statement good enough?, Is there anything confusing about it and is it boring?...

Thankyou so much in advance.

Narrative Essay: My First Time Traveling Alone

Nervousness is the reaction to anticipating something new or very important in your life. It is an emotion that is commonly felt before an event in which you are unsure of the outcome. One of the most memorable moments in my life was when I went to South Africa, I will never forget this experience as long as I live, for it was an eventful but yet nerve wrecking trip that helped me learn to be independent. It all started a few months before I graduated from high school when my mother told me that she had gotten me a round-trip plane ticket to visit a few of my relatives in Johannesburg, South Africa. The weeks flew by awaiting the day of my graduation and awaiting the day when I had to finally board the airplane to start my vacation. Being able to go to Johannesburg was a huge deal for me. However, I wasn’t looking forward to the long flight because I was extremely nervous about flying solo.

The day finally came, I was a little tired because I had stayed up late the night before to finish up with packing my belongings and could hardly sleep because I was overcome with anticipation. I hadn't gone on a trip or seen a few of my family members in a little over six years and I was nervous. I sat in the backseat of the car with my cousin on my way to Los Angeles International airport. My stomach was filled with butterflies and my mind with fears and countless thoughts. I remember repeatedly asking my mother several questions about my itinerary. My flight was scheduled to leave at 12pm but we arrived at the airport a few hours early in order to check in my luggage. I got my boarding pass, said my goodbyes and headed toward the boarding gate.