promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 8 years ago

Fidelity 401k Investment funds for 26 year old?

Hey everyone I need some information on which funds I should contribute to my 401k through fidelity. I know at my age I should be pretty aggressive with my portfolio. Any information would be greatly appreciated as I am new to investing.

I am 26 years old

No debt whatsoever. (I already paid off all my school and auto loans)

No mortgage payment yet, however looking to buy sometime within the next year.

I currently make 22k a year base salary, however with commissions it is anywhere around 37-45k. While this may not seem like alot, I live in a suburban area of Metro Detroit where the cost of living is significantly less then most of the country. More or less, when I do get a mortgage payment, it will be less then rent in alot of areas.

My company matches 25% up to the first $2400. Not much, but better than nothing I suppose.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Can you invest in any of the Fidelity Funds or are you limited to just a select few? Usually, the latter.

The Fidelity Contra Fund is one of their best performing funds with a positive 3,5, and 10 year return. It would certainly be worth an investment in my opinion--maybe 25-35%.

The Fidelity OTC Funds also has a very similar fine record. This is mostly a technology fund and growth fund. It probably would not be wise to put too much into this one but it IS aggressive. Maybe 10-20% depending on just how aggressive you happen to feel.

The Select Consumer Staples will add some stability to your holdings. It has a very good 3,5,10 year return. Maybe 20% about.

Now for a couple of international funds to add a little extra spice. Latin American Fund 5-10%, Canada Fund 5-10%.

Put the rest in a money market fund as a safety valve in case there is another market crash.