Which is better: Canon EOS 60D or 7D?

Which one is better?

Keep in mind I live in a state where it rains 80% of the year lol

I'm no professional, but I love photography and plan to do friends senior pictures and weddings, and just for fun.

This will be my first DSLR

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The Canon EOS 7D is the best all rounder camera, providing you the best of everything that the DSLR range has to offer; as it can compete with the higher end of Canon EOS range but at a fraction of the price but obviously with some compromises.

It has the highest FPS and picture quality and the 7D is water resistant, although it is not water proof. So if you considering in buying a camera; you should go with the 7D or another type of DSLR camera that has a similar water resistant body.

The problem with a DSLR with my understanding, is that if you don't have any camera experience what so ever especially if you have never owned a point and shoot camera, super zoom or hybrid camera system; you might find it difficult to understand the functions on the camera when you buy it. The EOS 60D or the 7D are not entry level cameras; especially the 7D which is the semi-professional SLR.

Therefore, DSLR Nikons or Canons, you will need to take a course in photography foundations before attempting to use the camera; as it won't have a intuitive navigation system to allow you to understand what each function does without looking it up onto the internet, or a youtube video and so forth.

Which is why I went with a Sony SLT-A77, its not a DSLR, but rather a DSLT; with DP Reviews comparing the body to the EOS 7D. The only up side for the 7D is the slightly higher picture quality. But the SLT-A77 so far has been very easy to navigate even though I do have about 5 years of camera experience. It is also water and dust resistant just as the 7D is also. But it has other features that the 7D doesn't and it was only released in August 2011 so still relatively new.