Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsCycling · 8 years ago

Can i ride a mountain bike on the road?

i want to get a trek fuel ex 9.8 as my first bike and im new to all this but i heard mountain bikes arent good on road. can i such add slicks and things will be good? when i first discovered the fuel ex i fell in love with it and already have 3200$ in saving for it. i want to ride off road with it thats why im buying it but i dont want a second bike for the road thats lame. also if i do ride it on the rode will it damage my bike?

Update:

what are the pros and cons, im new to this and i have no idea what your talking about

12 Answers

Relevance
  • fgr_cl
    Lv 4
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

In short, yes, you can. Nothing bad will happen to it other than tire wear.

You may go a bit slower than people on road bikes, but unless you go downhill on a smooth and straight road, physical condition is much more important than bike. I mean, if you train a lot, you may go faster than many people riding road bikes.

You can put slicks to close the gap against road bikes. There are two ways of doing that.

The first way is to change tires (and tubes) every time you need. You remove the knobby tires (and their tubes) and put slicks (and road tubes) when you will start using it on the road, e. g. for commuting, and do the opposite for offroading. This is the cheapest and least space-consuming option, but it is very time consuming. And you will not be able to have tubeless tires.

The second way is to buy a second wheelset and use it only for slicks. It may be another mountainbike wheelset - it doesn't have to be very fancy, a special road wheelset for mountainbikes (such as Mavic Speedcity), or a custom-built wheelset, with 700C road rims and disc hubs. Either way, you may put a road cassette for increased preformance. Just make sure the number of speeds match. This is the fastest, easiest and best performing option, but it will be more expensive.