How long will greencard take if US citizen sister applies or if greencard father applies?

I am a PhD student living currently at USA with F1 visa. I can live at USA legally up to August 2015. My sister is a US citizen and my parents have recently got Green card and currently living at USA. My question is, how long it will take me to get green card if my citizen sister applies for me? Or How long it will take if my green card holder father applies for me? Which process will be better for me?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

it depends to some extent on what country you're from and also how old you are. I imagine as a PhD student, you're over 21. so, your sister can file for you but it will take a minimum of 11 years, up to 23 if you're Filipino. If your parents file, it will take about 8 years or longer, up to 19 if you're Mexican but if they file, you'll have to remain single while waiting for their petition, or you'll invalidate the petition, unless they become citizens before you marry. check out http://www.travel.state.gov/visa/bulletin/bulletin...

edit: the only two countries with different waiting periods are the Philippines and Mexico. for every other country, it's the minimum time period. if you're Filippino and your parents apply for you, it will actually take longer if they become Americans than if they don't. but other than that, their citizenship will only knock off a year from the waiting period. there's no reason that you can't have both petitions simultaneously and then take the one that comes in first.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 8 years ago

Depends on what country you are from.

The first step in any case is to file an I-130 petition. It costs $420 and takes 5 months to be adjudicated. Once that has happened, a priority date is assigned.