Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

My Chances at a top Engineering School?

Before I get started, here are the schools I am asking about: University of Berkeley, Stanford, California Institute of Technology, Illinois at Urbana, Carnogie Melon, Georgia Tech, Michigan University, MIT. Here are my stats/ projected stats and please tell me if there is anything you guys would recommend in order to strengthen my resume whether it be about EC's or Scores.I do have time I am a freshman. Plus I am a pennsylvania resident if that makes any difference.

By the time I graduate I expect to have:

3,89 (3.82 when I apply to college) GPA

2250 SAT (got a 1750 when I took it in 8th grade)

Class Rank: 5/380

11 or 12 AP's (7 AP's by end of junior year) + As rigourous of a schedule as my school allows

DECA State Finalist:9,10

DECA National Finalist:11,12

DECA State Rep: 11,12

Academic Team 9-12(Varsity 11,12)(Nationals 9-12)

Tennis 9-12(Varsity 10-12)

Interact(charity club) 9-12

Member of School Newspaper

Vollunteer Work 10-12

MMMS Summer Camp ( camp for Math and Sciences hosted at Michigan University)

4 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You say nothing about what sort of engineering you have a passion for. They want to see your passion for engineering. When I started in electronics engineering I already had been building audio equipment for years.

My daughter, getting her PhD in civil engineering at a top 50 school (and she declined offers from some of the schools on your list) was passionate for transportation and infrastructure since she was a pre-teen.