LESLiE asked in SportsMartial Arts · 9 years ago

Can short people learn Judo?

I am really short, about 4ft11in. I see that in Judo you kinda wrestle your opponent or throw him over, can I really do that even if I'm short?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes. The founder of Judo, Dr, Jigoro Kano was a small man. Most of the old masters in martial arts were small. That is one of the great things about martial arts. It allows you even if you are short or not as strong have the ability to have a favorable outcome because it does not rely on strength.

I am short and I studied judo. In many ways being short gives you an advantage. You are already below most people center of gravity.

Source(s): Martial Arts since 1982 Black Belt in Shorin Ryu Black Belt in Jujitsu Brown Belt in Judo
  • 9 years ago

If you've ever had the chance to wrestle you'd notice that shorter people tend to have the edge in a lot of moves, especially moves that involve lifting. There is a limit to this and if they outweigh you by fifty odd kilograms it's probably too far gone, but having a lower centre of gravity and a lower strength point tends to give you a better starting point than a taller person.

Without putting skill into the equation let me put it this way; a theoretical person is five foot tall and weighs 40kg (90lbs if my conversions aren't shot) their theoretical opponent is six foot tall and weighs 70kgs (155lbs again if my conversions aren't shot) the two put their hands on each others shoulders and push, the shorter person will have the advantage because they're pushing upwards and pushing their opponent away from the ground and traction, while the bigger person is doing the opposite and pushing their opponent into traction. If we take it to an extreme and make the six foot person 100kgs then the shorter person would need an insane amount of strength to avoid getting shoved into the ground by the weight alone.

• 9 years ago