erixoo asked in PetsDogs · 9 years ago

My dog was recently neutered in the morning...?

When we brought him home he seemed normal, just a bit tired. But later on in the night he seems really weary and out of it. He would just sit in one place most of the time, walk over to a new spot just a bit, then stay sitting again with his head down. The first few times I lifted him up he didn't mind or whine, but not when I try to lift him up to place him in a more comfortable place he would whine pretty loudly. This is my first time caring for a dog after surgery and I am a little worried. Should I just leave him alone for the night or is there something I can do?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago

Fact is he was probably 'up' when he came out of the vet's office because he knew he was going home!! Quite often dogs will seem fine but as soon as they get home, they just 'crash' - the effect of the general anaesthetic will still be with him. What he needs for now, is a quiet warm place to rest and sleep it off - do you have a crate? This is ideal for the recovering patient. Didn't your vet advise you about his immediate care .... and he should probably have a 'cone' on to prevent him getting at his stitches. If not, sleep with him overnight, to make sure he doesn't worry at the incision. This is important as he could rip them out. Don't try to lift him AT ALL. Again re the stitches. He will be feeling some pain much as castration isn't anywhere the surgery a spay in the b itch is.

Later on this evening, make up some bland food, scrambled egg, or chicken breast and offer it to him, but don't worry if he refuses as he may well still feel a bit sick from the anaesthetic. Leave some water with him, but don't allow him to take in too much as he may vomit it back. Take him out on the lead to give him a chance to pee (he probably won't need to pooh since he will have been nil by mouth for 24 hours).