Dan asked in SportsFootball (American) · 8 years ago

Quarterback Position?

Before I start let me give you alittle background information, I'm currently a sophomore, I've played baseball ever since I was 3 and just this past year I lost the love for the game. I was burned out of playing and the coach of my highschool was a(lets just say we don't get along that well.)

Now, I'm looking into playing football, I've never played football in my life except with friends, you know the occasional game. My school doesn't really have a solid quarterback and I was thinking that I should try for that spot. I was a pitcher in baseball so I have a strong arm, run the 40 in 4.6, 5'11 and weigh 155lb. My question is how hard is learning the quarterback position? Any info/tips would be great!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I highly encourage you to join your high school football team next season. It will still not (yet) be too late for you to start playing football.

Based on your height and weight, as well as your strong arm, I believe that your will make a very good fit at quarterback. You have the ideal size for a high school quarterback.

What you need to do this (and every) offseason is eat healthy, and exercise by doing a lot of running every day. Personally, I recommend a calorie intake of 1800-2200, as well as at least one hour of running, per day. if you do these two things, you will get faster, stronger, and into better shape, which will greatly improve your chances of becoming a successful quarterback in high school football.

The most important attribute a quarterback needs is a good work ethic. Although the quarterback position can be the most difficult to learn, with a good work ethic, you can learn and develop yourself into a successful high school quarterback.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 8 years ago