Are spring loaded knifes legal in California?

I really can't seem to find a clear answer on this. Is a spring loaded blade legal in California? None of this "spring assisted" crap. Is a blade that I push a button and it swings open to a 4 inch serrated blade legal? I'm intrested in buying the smith and Wesson rescue knife with a window punch and seatbelt cutter, because I'm a firefighter and intrested in a cheap nice looking knife for on the job. Does this knife simply flip open fast at the push of a button or is there some sort of saftety i push before I push the release? Thanks for answers!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • <R>
    Lv 5
    8 years ago
    Best Answer

The best answer is: It depends. In California, Penal Code 17235 prohibits the carry of switchblades longer than two inches. Now the big question is, does a spring assist qualify as a switchblade?

Before we get to that, I've watched a couple of videos of this knife in question. Here's one of them: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyotRRP08Ow

Youtube thumbnail

I also read a vigorous debate including a retired Northern California Police Sergeant here: http://www.expertlaw.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8...

In that, the Sergeant concluded that this knife was a switchblade under the law and therefore illegal. But others pointed out that the thumbstud was attached to the blade and when closed, wanted to stay closed which would make it legal. But when you touch the the thumbstud, it does appear that the spring is doing all the work however, its difficult to tell without actually doing it personally. I think the knife was designed to be as close to being technically legal as possible.