Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsReptiles · 9 years ago

If I were to buy a snake...?

So, I do voluntary work at a vets practice, and found I really like snakes. Just got a few questions;

1. How big do corn snakes grow? Are they the smallest snakes? And how much would they cost?

2. Mammals generally grow to like their owners and are very loyal. Is this different in snakes?

3. How big ought a tank for a small snake be? Relative cost?

4. What would you need for the bottom of the tank-esk home?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm not an expert, take my response with a grain of salt, but:

I think corn snakes get a few feet long. There are smaller snakes (garter snakes, rough green snakes, etc), but they mostly aren't snakes you can really handle, and/or they require fairly fussy, specialized care. I think corns cost around... $20-40, give or take? More for a specialized morph.

Snakes aren't particularly loving or loyal, though they do get used to you.

General rule of thumb is that the tank should be at least as long as the snake, and at least half as wide, and more room is usually better. It would make sense to buy a cage for the *adult* length of your snake, so you don't have to upgrade. I think corns do OK in a 20-gallon tank, which I think will cost you about $20, but I'd check with a pet store.

I think corns do OK with aspen shavings or paper towel as a substrate, if that's what you're asking. They also need a water dish, and possibly a hide.

Whatever you decide to get, read *several* care sheets (in case one is wrong) before you buy.

Source(s): Please check out my open questions
  • 9 years ago