What's the best digital piano or keyboard?

I'm a piano enthusiast who has played for nearly 2 decades. I'm particular about the feel of the keys because I'm used to a baby grand but I live in a small apartment now and only have room for a keyboard. I don't care about different effects or features; the only important qualities are the feel and sound quality.

Oh yeah, and I'm a poor recent college grad and I need something cheap.

I've been comparing the Korg sp 170, Caso CDP-120, and Casio PX-130. All three seem nice but since I'm looking online and can't find them in any local music stores, I can't compare them for myself. Does anyone have any tips for me? Thanks

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Piano player of 30 years speaking here..

There is only one thing you can do to know the answer to your question. Get your hands on the piano in question and PLAY it before buying. No one's opinion is more important than your own in this matter.

You can look at all the reviews you can on the internet.. and this will guide you away from poorly made stuff.. but in order to know how it plays and sounds.. your hands and ears are the only judge of any importance. If you live in a smaller town.. plan on a trip to a large city and arrange ahead of time with a large music store to make sure they have what you want to play/hear before you get there.

• 9 years ago

The three you mentioned really don't qualify as "the best digital piano" ... there you've got to look at instruments like the Roland VPiano, Kawai MP-10, or Yamaha CP-1

Of the three you've mentioned, I think the PX-130 is the best compromise. The Korg has the best sound, but to me the keyboard, while perfectly fine, feels a little "spongy". The CDP-120 is nice as well, but the cost savings aren't worth the limited polyphony compared with the PX-130.

• Norm
    Lv 7
    9 years ago