Guy asked in Computers & InternetSoftware · 9 years ago

Help Selecting One Color in Photoshop Elements?

I've never used Photoshop Elements in my life before. Is there any way to select everything in an image that is a single color? I have an image that is white text on a black background, and I need to select everything that is white and transplant that to a different image. Is there any way that I can select all of the white from the image? Or do I just have to do my best with freeform select?

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The Magic Wand Tool selects by color. Press w on your keyboard and the Magic Wand's location in the Toolbar will highlight.

After you click on the Magic Wand, up in the Options Bar (above the workspace) and starting on the left, you'll see:

1. a little arrow - just about every tool has this little gem. If a tool isn't acting right, click on it and click Reset Tool.

2. A set of boxes. All the selection tools have these. The single box is for beginning a selection (I rarely use it). The first pair of boxes is "Add To Selection". If this pair is highlighted, you click once and then you can click again and again and again until all the areas you want are selected. I usually only use this pair when I select. The second pair is "Subtract From Selection". Maybe you've selected too much and need to remove some of it. The last pair of boxes is "Intersect With Selection" which I've only ever used 2X in the ten years I've used Elements. It selects the area where two selections overlap.