AP Calculus AB test??????

I'm currently a sophomore and in a precalculus honors class. But I think the material is too easy, and have been self-studying calculus in my free time. (I've already covered derivatives, related rates, limits, higher order derivatives, maxima/minima, Riemann sums and some indefinite integrals). I want to take the AP Calc AB test in May so I can to Calculus BC next year, and then take Multivariable Calculus at a college senior year. I'm aiming for a 5.

Is this too lofty of a goal, or could I do it?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Best Answer

You do not have to take the AP Calc AB test to be able to take BC. You can just skip Calc AB entirely and go into BC, unless your school has some odd rules. I believe you just need a teacher recommendation. Calc AB awards Calc I college credit and Calc BC awards Calc I and Calc II credit. Calc BC is basically just a repeat of AB material with additional material, and also moving at a faster pace.

In fact, my teacher somewhat forced me to take Calc BC during my senior year even though I never took AB. I actually found it to be pretty easy. I never paid attention in class and basically just learned everything myself from the textbook and its practice problems. However, you probably shouldn't view me as a good example, since I am pretty strong when it comes to math. It was also a good textbook with examples accompanying the rules and properties, etc. I also had an awesome teacher who was fair with his tests, although most people in the class thought they were difficult.