Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsWinter SportsIce Skating · 8 years ago

What is the difference between a flip and a lutz?

Because I was watching a video and I think they look really similar. Sorry if there is a really obvious answer, I'm new to this sport. (:

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

They are similar - the flip and the lutz both take off backwards from the left leg (anticlockwise), with the right toepick in the ice. However, the one obvious difference is that the flip takes off from a left INSIDE edge, whereas a lutz takes off from an OUTSIDE edge.

Another way one can distinguish the two is by observing the takeoff - a flip typically takes off from either a left inside 3-turn or a right mohawk, the skater then stretches the right leg behind, picks and jumps. A lutz, on the other hand, is usually done from a long, stretched out back left outside edge before the skater picks (it can also be done from steps such as mohawks and crossovers).

Also, the lutz jump is counterrotated. This means that it rotates in the opposite direction to the circle - in a lutz, you are travelling on a clockwise circle, but you jump anticlockwise. This also results in a different tracing - the lutz looks more like an s-shape, whereas the flip has a less distinct tracing.

The main difference, though, is:

Flip = inside edge

Lutz = outside edge

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tWmm4AKmgc

Youtube thumbnail

^^This video might help you understand it a bit better.

Source(s): figure skater
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago