Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelUnited StatesSan Jose · 8 years ago

what is it like going to ucsc (university of california santa cruz)?

i am very interested in transferring to this school in the future and if anyone is from this area, or better yet attended, or attends this school, i'd like to know how life is here. Are people easy to friend? Is it a beautiful city/campus? Is it a pain getting to class? Any other information would be awesome.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Adam J
    Lv 6
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I graduated from there in 2004.

First off it really is a fantastically gorgeous campus--you're basically going to school in a redwood forest that has ocean views. I can attest that being in a place that scenic for extended periods of time really does improve your mood...

Santa Cruz itself is a cool, fairly laid back town with a reasonably lively city center for a city of it's size. The only real drawback to Santa Cruz as a college town is that it's somewhat isolated from the Bay Area. I transferred there so I always had access to a car, but if you don't have a car and you like being in a big city you might find the town a little claustrophobic.

In general people are quite friendly. The school's reputation for being a hippie bastion is somewhat overstated--there are hippies and other bohemian types to be sure, but in general I'd say that the student body was probably pretty representative of Californian college students (if maybe a bit more to the left than average.) By general agreement the colleges on the west side of campus. (Kresge, Porter, College 8, Oakes) are a little more Bohemian than the rest of campus.