Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 9 years ago

Looking at investments, CDs, IRAs, Stocks such as ING and Etrade.?

I am new at this and have been interested in buying into stocks, or somehow investing my money. I just need someone to walk me through the best decision for me.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

CDs are not investments really. More or less savings vehicles and not much of that these days. There are two types of IRA accounts--traditional and Roth. You can deposit up to $5000 a year in each but you can not withdraw the money without penalty until you are 59 1/2. With a traditional you do not pay taxes on the money you put into the account buy you do pay taxes on everything you take out of the account. With a Roth you pay taxes on what you put into the account but under current law you do not pay taxes on anything you take out of the account. Congress could change that. Within the IRA account you can buy just about any type of security you might like--CDs, mutual funds, stocks, bonds. Etrade is set up especially for traders. Investors can invest using an Etrade account also but it is somewhat more expensive that some of the others. ING is somewhat expensive commission wise. Scottrade is very reasonably priced and you can begin with a $500 deposit. Others are Fidelity and TD Ameritrade. You can also invest with a mutual fund company. Fidelity is a mutual fund company but they also handle stock brokerage for traders and investors. Most of the on line brokerage firms have a variety of mutual funds that they will sell without charging a commission. Many also will sell certain index funds with no commission.

I can not really tell you what the best decision is for you. It might depend on the amount of money you wish to start with.

• Anonymous
    6 years ago

This Site Might Help You.

RE:

Looking at investments, CDs, IRAs, Stocks such as ING and Etrade.?