Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceTeaching · 9 years ago

Problem with Professor?

I am in my last year in University in Ontario and I want to attend grad school next year. The minimum average to get into the programs to which I am applying is 78, so it is extremely important that I do well in all of my courses.

In my sociology class, participation counts for 30% of my entire grade, this includes class attendance and speaking in class. The class took place two times a week and I have not missed one class. I am a very shy person, however, since the grade was important to me I forced myself to speak almost every class. I did the reading and had valuable things to contribute to class discussion.

Since I knew I would need letters of recommendation I met with my professor in office hours throughout the semester to go over assignments, by the end of the semester he knew me by name and knew I was a good student.

My professor failed to take attendance, and I never saw him take notes of who participated in class. I was slightly worried about this, however I assumed since he knew me personally (from his office hours) he would be aware of my level of participation. During class it was asked how we would know our participation marks and how it was being graded and he just said to not worry about it and it would be posted online. Nonetheless, my problem is, he gave me a 60% in participation. Due to my level of participation, especially in comparison to the rest of the class (other people I spoke to had 70s and 80s and in some cases I felt I participated more) I feel my grade is inaccurate, or a mistake.