Perfect lighting for newborn and family portraits?

I've been trying to search all over the internet for my particular situation and can't seem to find what I need. Hopefully another fellow photog can help. I'm still pretty new in the business of photography. I just set up a shoot with a military family with a newborn. The original plan was to just do pictures with the newborn for free ( so i can gain some experience in that situation) but they liked my work and said they wanted to pay for family photos too.

Right now I shoot with a Canon Rebel T3 and usually use my 55mm lens ( not sure if that information is required for an answer) I used to pretty much much everything on Auto but lately I've really been playing around with the ISO,Shutter speed etc. Now that I am,I need to really know how to work with my lighting. I have a Canon Speedlite 430EXII . I've been looking to see if I should also buy another strobe flash with umbrella since I will be shooting multiple people indoors. I love using bounce flash but it's usually best for small children. I don't want extreme darkness on one side of the picture or under the families eyes and have the child be TO well lit. Oh and I also can't spend a WHOLE lot on equipment right now. Any Ideas on what I should do/buy? and if anyone has any tips for family and newborn portraits,please feel free to share! Thank you in advance!

( Oh, and I also should add that the family is the couple and their newborn and a 4 year old boy.)

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The best place to learn about off camera lighting is the Strobist blog;

http://strobist.blogspot.com/2006/03/lighting-101....