What's your favorite or most brilliant sci-fi or fantasy concept?

As an aspiring writer I'm often fascinated by great ideas, especially those that are so brilliant that they get copied by other writers. A school for young wizards is a good idea, but a tent that's bigger on the inside than on the outside is a GREAT physics-bending concept. But that idea was copied from Dr. Who. Time travel is a fun and fascinating idea but its a bit overdone and therefore not very original. In a sea of overwrought vampire stories, The Twilight series is based on the totally original idea that the rainy (crappy, miserable) Northwest is a good place for vampires to stay out of the sun. I've seen at least two movies (an episode of Stargate and a Christmas movie for instance) based on the great Groundhog Day concept of an ever repeating day in which you get to practice or hone skills until you get them right. Shapeshifting comes up in lots of movies as does a variety superpowers like invisibility which has been around for quite a while. Self-teleportation for instance gained a lot of fame in "Heroes" and then started showing up all over. A few others: Dorian Gray stays young while the painting grows old. Instant healing allows Wolverine to survive a full skeletal metal reinforcement. In Greg Bear's "Eon" a people live inside a never ending asteroid. Various stories include super high tech implants that can tie into universal knowledge, record dreams, eliminate bad habits, thoughts and memories. In "The One" Jet Li became more powerful by eliminating his parallel selves in other dimensions. "Our world is an illusion" is a great concept with deep theological ramifications-- popularised by The Matrix, The Thirteenth Floor etc. "Our world is but a tiny speck within another MUCH larger universe"-- seen in Men in Black and many stoner stories. Aliens "seeded" humans on earth as part of a grandiose science experiment-- multiple origins. The hero can enter a TV show or movie-- Pleasantville, Th