Munie asked in Arts & HumanitiesPoetry · 9 years ago

Acrostic Poem for "Souther Sudan"?

Don't exactly need a whole poem just some really good ideas.

1 Answer

  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    "Southern Sudan" redirects here. For the former autonomous regions of Sudan, see Government of Southern Sudan (1972–1983) and Government of Southern Sudan (2005–2011).

    Republic of South Sudan

    Motto: "Justice, Liberty, Prosperity"

    Anthem: "South Sudan Oyee!"

    Capital (and largest city) Juba

    Official language(s) English[1][2]

    Recognised national languages All South Sudanese indigenous languages[3]

    Demonym South Sudanese

    Government Federal presidential democratic republic

    - President Salva Kiir Mayardit

    - Vice President Riek Machar

    Legislature National Legislature

    - Upper House Council of States

    - Lower House National Legislative Assembly

    Independence from Sudan

    - Comprehensive Peace Agreement 6 January 2005

    - Autonomy 9 July 2005

    - Independence 9 July 2011


    - Total 619,745 km2 (45th)

    239,285 sq mi


    - 2008 census 8,260,490 (disputed)[4] (94th)

    - Density 13.33/km2 (214)

    34.52/sq mi

    GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate

    - Total $13.227 billion [5]

    - Per capita $1,546 [5]

    Currency South Sudanese pound (SSP)

    Time zone East Africa Time (UTC+3)

    Drives on the right

    South Sudan (i/ˌsaʊθ suːˈdæn/ or /suːˈdɑːn/), officially the Republic of South Sudan,[8] is a landlocked country located in the Sahel region of northeastern Africa.[8] It is also part of the North Africa UN sub-region.[9] Its current capital is Juba, which is also its largest city; the capital city is planned to be moved to the more centrally located Ramciel in the future.[10] South Sudan is bordered by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, the Central African Republic to the west, and Sudan to the north. South Sudan includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd formed by the White Nile, locally called the Bahr al Jabal.

    The modern states of South Sudan and Sudan were part of Egypt under the Muhammad Ali Dynasty, later being governed as an Anglo-Egyptian condominium until Sudanese independence was achieved in 1956. Following the First Sudanese Civil War, the Southern Sudan Autonomous Region was formed in 1972 and lasted until 1983. A second Sudanese civil war soon developed and ended with the Comprehensive Peace Agreement of 2005. Later that year, southern autonomy was restored when an Autonomous Government of Southern Sudan was formed.

    South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011.[11][12] It is a United Nations member state,[13][14] a member state of the African Union,[15] and a member state of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development.[16]

    South Sudan is one of the poorest countries in the world, with one of the worst public health situations of any country.[17]

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.