Elly asked in Business & FinanceCredit · 8 years ago

First time car buyer, no credit..any tips?

Ok im almost 22 and as far as I know have zero credit history. I want a new Mazda3 ive researched and thats the car I want. I plan on putting 3 or $4000 down but idk how to go about the whole process of purchasing a car. I make a lil over $1400 monthly, after my bills I have roughly $800-900 as spending money and ive had my job for about three years now. Do I need a cosigner? How do I negotiate?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Auto finance is what I do for a living and there are 10 different things that are considered in a vehicle loan by the lenders.

1. Term of loan, the shorter the better.

2. Age of vehicle, 6-years old or less for most lenders.

3. Miles on vehicle, 50,000 or less for most lenders.

4. Amount to finance verse N.A.D.A. wholesale value, the lower the better.

5. Credit score 550 or above, the higher the better.

6. Credit profile, 3-open accounts including 1 installment loan paid at least 12 times for at least $150.00 a month.

7. Down payment, $1,000.00 or 10% of sales amount for most lenders.

8. Monthly income, at least $2,000.00 gross.

9.Time on job, 2-years for most lenders.

10. Time at residence. 2-years for most lenders.

All of these things must meet the lender guidelines to be approved.

With you being only 22 years old with no credit you most likely will need either a co-signer or qualify as a first time buyer on your own.

Try your own local bank or credit union first and if that doe's not work find a large dealer that advertises Special Finance and go talk to the Manager, they will be able to help you.

Source(s): Finance Manager for a car dealer for over 11-years.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 8 years ago