renault 5 gt turbo vs. citroen c2 vts?

i am starting driviong next year, and do not have a clue what to get, i have done some research and came up with these two cars to chose from,

renault 5 gt turbo (1.4 turbo, max 130mph standard, good reviews, 1989- 1991 *£2000 about)

citroen c2 vts (flappy paddle gearbox, 1.4, decent looking, 2001- 2005 *£2000 about)

firstly, you will notice from the specs is that their is a huge 10 year gap between these cars, and you would imagine what safety rating the renault has,(im saying *** ncap) anyway, what would be an advantage to me is the turbo as i like speedy cars, but the citroen's flappy paddle style gearbox may help as i am a young driver and enjoy these types of creature comforts while driving (especially long journeys), anyway to sum up, the renault 5 and citroen will be about the same on insurance as the renault 5 is a classic this year!, Also, what makes me want the renault is the fact my dad used to own one, and he says it was very good to drive and is a good thrill when you feel like going fast too. the cars do not compare as they have absolitely nothing in common, but as a first time driver, what will be the best car for me to get???

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

thought about tuning a C2?

• 4 years ago

C2 Vts Turbo

• 9 years ago

I've owned both and can tell you what they are generally both are like, so listen up!

RENAULT 5 GT TURBO - will be quicker than the c2 vts, however at a price not worth paying. There is no power steering, interior comforts, driver aids, old carburettor fuel intake design (drinks the juice), basically a raw car. They rust extremely badly and you'll be lucky to find one than has been on the wrong side of a hedge! On a long journey, from my experience we won't even go there!

C2 VTS - slightly slower than the R5GTT however is a more modern up to date car, easier for everyday driving.