Hannah asked in TravelFranceParis · 8 years ago

Hidden costs with BNP Paribas?

I will be moving to France to live with my boyfriend on a limited budget in January. I currently have a Bank of America account, and they have a relationship with BNP where there are no ATM fees. However, I'm sure there are fees related to commission in changing dollars to euros, or is there a bad exchange rate? I will ultimately try and open an account directly with BNP to reduce costs, but any advice on how to get my American money over there with as little cost as possible would be great. Thank you!

Update:

one more thing: i should mention that i want to open a french account so i can get my own debit card so i can use the velib bike system. i'm only staying 6 months... worth it??

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

don't fret-- i lived in france for the last 2 years, one of which i was a full time student and relying on money being sent from the states to live off of. bank of america's relationship with BNP will allow you to withdraw money from ANY BNP Paribas atm without a fee-- if you withdraw from any other bank you will be charged upwards of 5euro each transaction. if you have money in your bank of america account this is DEFINITELY the cheapest way to change it to euro, and there is no limit of how much/how often you can take money out.